Hansi Lo Wang http://wknofm.org en At Washington's Training Camp, Fans Are Split On Name Change http://wknofm.org/post/washingtons-training-camp-fans-are-split-name-change Washington, D.C.'s football team has opened its training camp in Richmond, Va., just weeks after <a href="http://www.npr.org/2014/06/18/323351064/redskins-cancelled-tradmarks-spell-a-symbolic-victory-for-critics" target="_blank">trademark registrations for its name were revoked</a>.<p>In June, the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office ruled that the Redskins' name is "disparaging" to Native Americans. And earlier this month, U.S. Sat, 26 Jul 2014 12:03:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 50592 at http://wknofm.org At Washington's Training Camp, Fans Are Split On Name Change New York's 'Night Of Birmingham Horror' Sparked A Summer Of Riots http://wknofm.org/post/new-yorks-night-birmingham-horror-sparked-summer-riots It was called "<a href="http://www.nytimes.com/1964/07/20/violence-flares-again-in-harlem.html?_r=0" target="_blank">New York's night of Birmingham horror</a>."<p>Just over two weeks after the <a href="http://apps.npr.org/behind-the-civil-rights-act/#/annotations" target="_blank">landmark Civil Rights Act</a> was signed into law in 1964, violence erupted in the streets of New York City, lasting a total of six nights. It was the first in a series of riots that would come to define the later years of the 1960s civil rights movement. Fri, 18 Jul 2014 23:54:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 50258 at http://wknofm.org New York's 'Night Of Birmingham Horror' Sparked A Summer Of Riots 'Without Tommy, There's No Ramones' http://wknofm.org/post/without-tommy-theres-no-ramones Punk rock music has lost one of its earliest pioneers.<p>Tommy Ramone <a href="http://www.npr.org/blogs/thetwo-way/2014/07/12/330893277/tommy-ramone-last-original-member-of-the-ramones-dies-at-62">died of cancer on Friday</a> at his home in Queens, N.Y. Sun, 13 Jul 2014 15:04:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 49971 at http://wknofm.org 'Without Tommy, There's No Ramones' Language Barriers Pose Challenges For Mayan Migrant Children http://wknofm.org/post/language-barriers-pose-challenges-mayan-migrant-children Among the tens of thousands of unaccompanied minors who have come from Central America this year are children who speak little or no Spanish. Many are from Guatemala's indigenous communities, who speak more than 20 different Mayan languages.<p>Rafael Domingo, 16, grew up in Guatemala speaking Q'anjob'al, sometimes referred to as Kanjobal. The youngest son of a single mother, he rode a bus, walked for miles and crossed a river before he was stopped at the Texas border.<p>"It was so difficult to come to this country," Domingo says through an interpreter.<p>His journey in the U.S. Tue, 01 Jul 2014 23:01:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 49445 at http://wknofm.org Language Barriers Pose Challenges For Mayan Migrant Children Wave Of Guatemalan Migrant Children Presents Unique Challenges http://wknofm.org/post/wave-guatemalan-migrant-children-presents-unique-challenges President Obama issued a warning this week to any parents in Mexico and Central America considering allowing their children to cross the U.S. border alone.<p>"Do not send your children to the borders," <a href="https://gma.yahoo.com/obama-warns-central-americans-not-send-children-borders-020057500--abc-news-topstories.html" target="_blank">he told ABC News</a>. "If they do make it, they'll get sent back. Fri, 27 Jun 2014 20:23:00 +0000 Hansi Lo Wang 49278 at http://wknofm.org Wave Of Guatemalan Migrant Children Presents Unique Challenges